Jefferson-Lincoln Awards

The sixteenth annual Jefferson-Lincoln Awards: An Evening to Honor Lives of Public Service gala will be held on Saturday, November 14, 2015 at The Inn at Spanish Bay. The honorees this year are: Scott Pelley, CBS Evening News anchor and managing editor and correspondent for the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes; Martha Raddatz, ABC News senior foreign affairs correspondent; Dave Martin, CBS News national security correspondent covering the Pentagon and the State Department; and Jim Miklaszewski, NBC News chief Pentagon correspondent. For information, call 831-582-4200.


CBS News Anchor Scott Pelley

CBS News anchor Scott Pelley

Scott Pelley is one of the most experienced reporters in broadcast journalism. Since joining 60 Minutes in 2004, half of all the major awards won by the broadcast have been for stories reported by Pelley. Under his leadership, the CBS Evening News with Scott Pelley has become America’s fastest growing network evening news broadcast and is currently enjoying its best season in more than seven years. Some of Pelley’s most recent 60 Minutes assignments include reporting in Iraq on the front lines in the battle against ISIS; a news-making interview with the nurses who treated the first Ebola patient in the United States; and the only interview with one of the Navy SEALs who helped bring Osama bin Laden to justice.




ABC News senior foreign affairs correspondent Martha Raddatz

Martha Raddatz has covered all aspects of foreign policy for nearly twenty years—reporting from the Pentagon, the State Department, the White House and from conflict zones around the world. In October 2012, she moderated the only vice presidential debate between Congressman Paul Ryan and Vice President Joe Biden. In addition, Raddatz serves as the primary substitute for George Stephanopoulos on This Week and contributes regularly to the program. Prior to her current role she served as White House correspondent during the last term of President George W. Bush’s administration.





CBS News national security correspondent Dave Martin

Dave Martin has covered the Pentagon and the State Department since 1993. In that capacity, he has reported virtually every major defense, intelligence and national affairs story for CBS Evening News, as well as for other broadcasts, including 60 Minutes and 48 Hours. During the invasion of Afghanistan and the war in Iraq, Martin’s in-depth knowledge of how the State Department, intelligence community and the military operate both on the battlefield and in Washington, D.C., positioned him as the “big picture” reporter for CBS.





NBC News chief Pentagon correspondent Jim Miklaszewski

 In September 2011, Jim Miklaszewski was the first at the scene to report that the Pentagon had been attacked and has since led the network’s coverage of the war in Afghanistan. Miklaszewski was a White House correspondent during the George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton administrations. In the Bush administration, he reported on the Gulf War with Iraq, summits with Mikhail Gorbachev and Boris Yeltsin, and the Bush reelection campaign in 1992. During the Clinton years, he covered President Clinton’s transition from Little Rock, his many trips abroad and his reelection.





Previous Jefferson-Lincoln honorees include:

Year 2014

  • Ron Wyden, U.S. Senator, Oregon (D)
  • Mike Rogers, U.S. Representative, 8th District, Michigan (R)
  • Barbara Starr, CNN Chief Pentagon Correspondent

Year 2013

  • Bob Schieffer, Host CBS Face the Nation
  • Barbara Mikulski, U.S. Senator, Maryland (D)
  • Saxby Chambliss, U.S. Senator, Georgia (R)

Year 2012

  • Ray LaHood, 16th Secretary of Transportation (R)
  • Candy Crowley, Chief Political Correspondent and Anchor, CNN
  • Steny Hoyer, U.S. Representative, 5th Congressional District, Maryland (D)

Year 2011

  • Robert Gates, 22nd Secretary of Defense (R)
  • Alice Rivlin, 30th Director, U.S. Office of Management and Budget (D)
  • Wolf Blitzer, Lead Political Anchor, CNN

Year 2010

  • Tom Brokaw, Special Correspondent, NBC Nightly News
  • Cokie Roberts, Senior News Analyst, NPR and ABC News
  • David Brooks, Columnist, The New York Times

Year 2009

  • Bernard Shaw, Anchor Emeritus, CNN
  • Andrea Mitchell, Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent, NBC News
  • Jim Lehrer, Executive Editor and Anchor, PBS NewsHour with Jim Lehrer

Year 2008

  • Arnold Schwarzenegger, 38th Governor, California (R)
  • Jane Harman, U.S. Representative, 36th District, California (D)
  • Jim Saxton, U.S. Representative, 3rd District, New Jersey (R)
  • Ron Brownstein, Political Director, Atlantic Media

Year 2007

  • David Broder, National Political Correspondent, The Washington Post
  • Judy Woodruff, Senior Correspondent, PBS NewsHour with Jim Lehrer
  • Belva Davis, Television Journalist, KQED

Year 2006

  • Sherwood Boehlert, U.S. Representative, 24th District, New York (R)
  • Ike Skelton, U.S. Representative, 4th District, Missouri (D)

Year 2005

  • Susan Collins, U.S. Senator, Maine (R)
  • Dianne Feinstein, U.S. Senator, California (D)
  • Joseph Lieberman, U.S. Senator, Connecticut (D)

Year 2004 

  • John Breaux, U.S. Senator, Louisiana (D)
  • Olympia Snowe, U.S. Senator, Maine (R)

Year 2003 

  • William Cohen, 20th Secretary of Defense (R)
  • Norman Mineta, 14th Secretary of Transportation (D)
  • Marty Meehan, U.S. Representative, 5th District, Massachusetts (D)
  • Christopher Shays, U.S. Representative, 4th District, Connecticut (R)

Year 2002 

  • Russ Feingold, U.S. Senator, Wisconsin (D)
  • John McCain, U.S. Senator, Arizona (R)

Year 2001 

  • John Murtha, U.S. Representative, 12th District, Pennsylvania (D)
  • Bill Young, U.S. Representative, 10th District, Florida (R)

Year 2000

  • John Chafee, U.S. Senator, Rhode Island (R) Posthumously
  • Daniel Patrick Moynihan, U.S. Senator, New York (D)


The 2014 Jefferson-Lincoln Award banquet was a great fundraising success with more tables purchased than in any year thus far. Below is a list of individuals, companies and organizations who generously supported the 2014 event. Sponsorships for the 2015 banquet are available at a price of $12,000. For information about becoming a sponsor, please contact the Panetta Institute at 831-582-4200.

2014 sponsors included:


Sherry E. DeBoer for Leon and Sylvia Panetta

Sue Antle for Barbara Starr

Debra and George W. Couch III for Mike Rogers

California State University, Monterey Bay for Ron Wyden


Association of California Life & Health Insurance Companies

Frank & Denise Quattrone Foundation

Zenith Insurance — A Fairfax Company


Automobile Club of Southern California

Laurie and David Benjamin

Blue Shield of California

The Boeing Company

CalChamber/Redwood Pacific

Steve Caldeira / International Franchise Association

California American Water

Cannery Row Company

Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation



Roger W. Coleman

Community Hospital Foundation

Dignity Health

Dominican University of California


Foundation for the Naval Postgraduate School

Lockheed Martin

Monterey Bay Aquarium

Mike and Mary Orradre

Pacific Gas & Electric Company

Pacific Maritime Association and Sugerman Communications Group

Leon and Sylvia Panetta




Pebble Beach Company

Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System

Santa Clara University

Southern Company

Stevens, Sloan & Shah CPAs

Tanimura & Antle, Inc.

Louise and Ed Trout

Victory Toyota Scion/Lexus Monterey Peninsula

Kathy and Tom Wiggans

Stanley Zax


Bruce G. Bodaken

The Don Chapin Company, Inc.

Mann Packing Co., Inc.

Dr. Patrick Welton and Annette Welton



Bank of America

Charles L. Canfield-Santa Cruz Seaside Company

Union Bank


John De Luca, Ph.D.

Monterey County Business Council

Noland, Hamerly, Etienne & Hoss

Anthony Varni