Academic Advisory Committee

Our Academic Advisory Committee consists of leaders from higher education from around the region who offer counsel to help support the Institute’s mission as a nonpartisan study center advancing public policy and attracting thoughtful men and women to public service. Committee members meet with Panetta Institute personnel to help in setting direction for our educational efforts.

Current members are:

  • Bradley J. Davis, J.D., President, West Valley College
  • Jeff Dayton-Johnson, Ph.D., Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Institute, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey
  • Col. Phillip J. Deppert, USA, Commandant, Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
  • James A. Donahue, Ph.D., President, Saint Mary’s College of California
  • Fr. Michael E. Engh, President, Santa Clara University
  • Deneen Guss, Ph.D., Monterey County Superintendent of Schools
  • Cynthia K. Larive, Ph.D., Chancellor, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Willard Lewallen, Ph.D., Superintendent/President, Hartnell College
  • Mary Marcy, Ph.D, President, Dominican University of California
  • Eduardo M. Ochoa, Ph.D., President, California State University, Monterey Bay
  • Vice Admiral Ann E. Rondeau,USN (Ret.) Ed.D., President, Naval Postgraduate School
  • Kathleen Rose, E.d.D., Superintendent/President, Gavilan College
  • Walter Tribley, Ph.D., Superintendent/President, Monterey Peninsula College
  • Matthew Wetstein, Ph.D., Superintendent/President, Cabrillo College
  • Mitchel L. Winick, J.D., President and Dean, Monterey College of Law